RSS Feed

I Hope You Dance

Saturday night I went to the first concert I’ve been to in years! It was the last night of the Lee Ann Womack, Reba McEntire, & George Straight Tour!!!  It was SO FUN!  Lee Ann opened the show, Reba seriously revved it up, and George , well he’s George and he’s awesome, what else can I say.  They sang more great songs and number one hits than I can recount, but there was one particular song I was looking forward to hearing live.  It was Lee Ann Womack’s song “I Hope You Dance”.  I know, I know, I’m cheesey, but there are some lines I really love in this song and this is one of them:

“….and when you get the choice to sit it out or dance, I hope you dance”

The song is about choosing to take risks, to love, live, and not let opportunities pass you by. She is telling her children what she hopes they’ll do with this choice.  I think we all face this fork in the road daily.   Am I going to sit this day out, or am I going to dance?  I love this quote by E.B. White:

“I arise in the morning torn between a desire to improve the world and a desire to enjoy the world. This makes it hard to plan the day.”

Sometimes I wonder, can I “dance” while I improve the world?  Is it either or?  I don’t think it has to be, in fact, I think making a difference is what makes us dance.  Jamey’s message on Sunday was about using all that God has given to us, to make a difference in the world for His Kingdom and purpose, in the unique place He has placed  us and the unique way He made us.   He gave us this acronym that I love:  (credit Rick Warren)

S.H.A.P.E.

S- Spiritual Gifts- when we accept Christ as our Saviour, we’re all given at least one spiritual gift.

H- Heart- (your passions)- what jazzes you, excites you, motivates you, tugs at your heart

A- Abilities- what do you do well?  play an instrument, build things, accounting, event planning, etc.

P- Personality- are you extroverted, introverted, analytical, creative, etc.  You can be used!

E- Experiences- good and bad, God won’t waste a single one if you’ll allow Him into those areas!

 

Maybe the enemy tells you that you don’t have anything to offer, it would be better to be like someone else, to have more abilities, to be ashamed of your experiences, etc, etc.  GOD, however tells you He delights in you, has purpose for you, and wants you to use all He has given you to be a light in the world, making a difference for someone else, and ultimately bring glory to Him.

Maybe you struggle with depression, or anxiety, or insecurity and you feel overwhelmed by the thought of “dancing”.  It sounds so much easier to “sit it out”.

Maybe you’re like me, and when you dance, it isn’t graceful and lovely.  Maybe it’s filled with missteps, losing your rhythm, or even falling down.  I so wish I could dance like those girls on Dancing with the Stars, but I dance more like Phoebe Bufay.

GOD says, He can use it all to His glory if we’ll let Him, and He longs to use it all; the good, the bad, and the ugly.  He isn’t looking for perfection…..He knows better than anyone that isn’t possible…..  None of us can do it on our own.  He’s looking for trust and willingness.

“We rely on what Christ Jesus has done for us.  We put no confidence in human effort.”  Philippians 3:3

When given the choice today to sit it out or dance, I hope with the help of Jesus, to dance.  I hope you do too!

*Click here to take a free online spiritual gifts test.

 

 

About johnsonpartyof5

I am the blessed and privileged wife of Jamey, mother of 3, & pastor's wife of Lifepointe Church. My heart belongs to Jesus.

Leave a Reply

