RSS Feed

That’s Real Love

Today marks 2 years since my brother, Jamie, went to be with Jesus.  This would make most holidays more difficult to celebrate, but I can’t think of a better time of the year to celebrate my brother’s life.  Recently someone introduced me to someone  saying, “she lost her brother to cancer”.  I knew what she meant, and I have felt that loss deeply.  But the fact is, I haven’t really lost my brother.  I am temporarily out of contact with him, but I haven’t lost him.  I know right where he is……and the reason I know , is all represented this Easter week-end.

Over 2 thousand years ago, Jesus (God’s Son) came to earth in the form of a human being.  He was beaten beyond recognition, suffered tremendously, crawled onto a cross willingly, and was crucified.  Why did He do it?  Because He loved us.  God  is love.  The full essence of a relationship.  He isn’t looking to control us, or make us follow a long list of rules.  He wants to be in a meaningul, growing relationship with us.  Since the fall of man at the beginning of time, sin has been in the way of that relationship, and His death and resurrection made a way for our redemption, if we choose to accept the gift.  He paid the price for our sins.  It’s our debt, paid in full, by Jesus.  The gift is to one day live with Him in heaven, where there will be no more evil, no more tears, no more broken hearts, and no more separation by death.

So as we celebrate the resurrection of Jesus, remember that His resurrection, makes our resurrection possible.   My brother’s spirit has already resurrected, that happened the moment 2 years ago when he took his final earthly breath and his spirit went to heaven.  (“We are confident, I say, and willing rather to be absent from the body, and to be present with the Lord.” 2 Corinthians 5:8)

And one day, his body will be resurrected as well.

“He will take our weak mortal bodies and change them into glorious bodies like His own”  Philippians 3:21

While I will miss Jamie every remaining day of my life, I am joyful that I will  see him again.  All because of the wonderful, powerful resurrection of Jesus.  What a beautiful sacrifice He made, what a beautiful love story, that’s real, that I get to be a part of.

God gives us the freedom to choose.  There are only 2 choices.  Belief or unbelief.   Read it for yourself today in John chapters 19 & 20.  Let the love speak to you.  Choose.

That’s Real Love

About johnsonpartyof5

I am the blessed and privileged wife of Jamey, mother of 3, & pastor's wife of Lifepointe Church. My heart belongs to Jesus.

Leave a Reply

