RSS Feed

Gesundheit! Blessing Our Children

Gesundheit is a german word which when taken literally means “good health”.  It has been translated by North Americans to mean “God Bless You”.

I was blessed early in my adulthood to have a pastor and friend , Pastor David Schooler,  who taught me the importance of words.  The effect our words have on those around us.  With our words, we can bless someone or curse them.  It is said in the Bible:

“And so blessing and cursing come pouring out of the same mouth.  Surely, my brothers and sister, this is not right!”  James 3:10

Though I am an imperfect human and sometimes mess up, I do try to live this out with intention. The choice to bless or curse flows through relationships all around us.  Spouses, family, friends, church members, co-workers, etc.  Today I want to talk about the relationship that it is most important to give blessings and not cursings: our kids.  My kids are still developing and forming.  They are vulnerable, impressionable, and teachable.  They are counting on my husband and I to bless them with bright futures. To provide them with unconditional love and acceptance.  To provide them with the tools and equipment they need to face life.  There is a book called “The Blessing” by Gary Smalley that is a wonderful resource to help us parent on purpose in the area of blessing our children.  However, it isn’t just a parenting book, it will also help you discover blessing from God if you didn’t receive it growing up.  It also covers spouses, friends, and churches and how we can give unconditional acceptance and life giving tools to these important relationships.  We can give blessing to others through:

1.  Meaningful Touch

2.  Spoken words

3.  Expressing High Value of  Them

4.  Picturing a Special Future for Them

5.  Making a Committment to Blessing Others

As I was reading my Bible a few days ago, I came upon these scriptures that I committed to making a part of my regular prayers for my children.  My oldest is 9 and has already chosen Jesus Christ as the Lord of her life.  There is nothing in this world that brings me more joy.  It is the single biggest goal of our parenting.  But, we don’t want it to end there.  That’s just the beginning of her relationship with Jesus.  For our younger 2, we pray for them to make that decision at young ages as well, and these scriptures are now also part of the daily prayers of blessings on their lives:

“And now, just as you accepted Christ Jesus as your Lord, you must continue to follow Him.  Let your roots grow down into Him, and let your lives be built on Him.  Then your faith will grow strong in the truth you were taught, and you will overflow with thankfulness.”  Colossians 2:6-7

Think of your child facing life  deeply rooted in Christ.  It’s never too late to begin this prayer, even if your children are grown!  I can’t think of any more important purpose to apply to parenting.  If you don’t have this yourself, pray for it.  Make the commitment.  Let God parent you, as you parent your children.

Let the Blessing Flow

About johnsonpartyof5

I am the blessed and privileged wife of Jamey, mother of 3, & pastor's wife of Lifepointe Church. My heart belongs to Jesus.

One response »

  1. I’m adding this book to my list of “books to read” Thank you for this sweet reminder!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

