RSS Feed

Wild Eggs!

I love my children.  I really, really do.  They are the lights of my life.  I also really enjoy those moments when I am able to steal away with some quiet time to refresh!  It makes me a better mom, wife, daughter, sister, aunt, friend, and servant of Jesus!   Having my kiddos home for summer is so fun.  We can take impromptu trips, stay up and sleep in a little later, relax a lot more often, and eat entirely too much ice cream.  We can go to the movies in the middle of the day, play in the pool, and take evening walks and bike rides.  There is no homework, lunchpacking, or strict bedtime.  I CHERISH these times and am SUPER thankful to be able to stay at home and experience them!  But, there is a challenge as well. The challenge that there is constantly at least one of my 3 short blondes needing something from me.  Even as I write this, I have a sopping wet 2 year old in a bathing suit sitting in my lap begging for “Dora gummies”. (so if I’m typing something crazy here, please forgive and disregard:)   There is very little time to pull away and refuel for the next activity.  (God bless all of my homeschooling friends out there.  You amaze me!)

This morning I got a chance to refresh.  I had breakfast with 3 lovely ladies at my favorite breakfast food restaurant, Wild Eggs.  We chattered and laughed for 2 hours and I went home equipped with much better coping skills  with which to enjoy my kiddos and also break up their fights while they’re home for summer vacation.  I am an introvert by nature.  Some may misinterpret this to mean that we introverts are not people lovers.  That is SO NOT TRUE!  I am an introvert who is also a people lover.  I enjoy being in the mix, laughing, and  having fun.  I love the relationships I’ve been blessed with and enjoy parties, get togethers, cookouts and would be LOST without them! Relationships are crucial, starting with my most important one, with Jesus.   So please, don’t give us introverts a bad rap!  What this DOES mean, however, is that I am not REFUELED AND RECHARGED by being around people all the time, but need pretty regular times to pull away in order to recharge my battery.  Extroverts (who also need time to pull away sometimes) are mostly recharged by being with people frequently.

So the challenge of summer for me, is to make sure I utilize the tiny tidbits of time I can to step away from the chaos.  My usual prayer, reading, and writing time during my youngest child’s nap, is temporarily replaced by splashes in the pool, bike rides, and teaching my children problem solving skills.  My usual time to regroup will return in August.  So, in the meantime, I need to get a little more creative about it.   Sometimes I may need a trip to the mall or Target ALL BY MYSELF.  Other times I may need a book and a bubble bath or to go for a walk after they’ve gone to bed. .  A time to quiet the sweet sound of tattling in my life makes all the difference in the way I’m able to handle the constant demands.   Today that meant, a lovely grown-up breakfast with 3 friends where I didn’t have to take anyone potty or cut up anyone’s food.

And for those of you wondering, yes I did stop writing and go get those Dora gummies:)  That should take care of the demands for the next…….62 seconds:)

How about you?  What refuels you?  Have you recharged your battery lately?

About johnsonpartyof5

I am the blessed and privileged wife of Jamey, mother of 3, & pastor's wife of Lifepointe Church. My heart belongs to Jesus.

2 responses »

  1. It depends … sometimes I need my time to be alone and quiet and sometimes I really need to spends some time with friends.

    Reply
  2. I love your perspective on all of this. Summer time has been hard because I’ve felt guilty for not being able to keep up with my normal routines of my quiet time and other things. Thanks for the reminder that it’s ok to spend extra time with the kiddos making good memories and building up those relationships but that it’s also ok to take a little time for myself…even during summer break. BTW…I love the name of that restaurant…”Wild Eggs” makes me want to find some girlfriends and go to breakfast!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

