RSS Feed

Virtual Community Groups for Pastor’s Wives and Women in Ministry

I LOVE the ministry.  I love that God called both my husband and myself to serve Him in this capacity- from the front line, in the trenches, however you want to put it.  I couldn’t imagine giving my life to anything else!  It can also be very challenging.  It’s a unique role that can be isolating in some ways if you let it.  I have chosen not to let it.

Here are just a few statistics, taken from Fuller Institute, George Barna, and Pastoral Care, Inc.

* 80% of pastors and 84% of their spouses feel unqualified and discouraged much of the time

* 50% feel unable to meet the demands

* 70% do not have someone they consider a close friend

* Only 1 out of 10 actually retire as a minister

* 94% of their families feel the pressures of the ministry

* 70% constantly fight depression

* 50% quit within the first 5 years

* 80% of spouses wish their spouses would choose another profession

* 1700 ministers left the ministry each month last year

 

Yikes!  I love the ministry, I want my friends to love the ministry, and I want to keep loving it, so I  am linking arms with other women around the world.  In this day and age, you can connect with people from everywhere, not just in your own town (though that’s awesome too!)   There’s a verse in the Bible that tells us that 3 chords are stronger than 1.  I am excited to be a part of such an encouraging ministry that will strengthen and sharpen us all as we press onward for the Kingdom.  It affects us personally, but also trickles into the lives of those we serve alongside in our churches.  What an opportunity!  I can’t even explain the way it has strengthened, encouraged, and sharpened me personally!

This year I have the awesome privilege of leading a Virtual Community Group through Leading and Loving It!  My group is open to all senior pastor’s wives and church planter’s wives and will meet via Skype on the first Thursday of each month at 1:00 pm.  There are MANY other groups available at all different times- groups for women’s ministry leaders, youth pastor wives, campus pastor wives, missionary/non-profit, worship leader wives, and other roles of women in ministry.  NO ONE should do life alone, and NO ONE should do ministry alone.  I invite you to consider joining me in the linking of arms with women around the world, awesome, fun women, who love Jesus and are doing their best to serve Him in the way He MADE them!

If you are not a woman in ministry or the wife of a minister, please pass this along to any that you know.  It will be a blessing to them and to your church.

You can view the community groups by clicking here.  Be sure to include the group leaders name in your registration.

Have a terrific day!

About johnsonpartyof5

I am the blessed and privileged wife of Jamey, mother of 3, & pastor's wife of Lifepointe Church. My heart belongs to Jesus.

2 responses »

  1. Support is so imporrtant! There is no one who understands ministry life like. . .well, the Lord Jesus :). . .and other ministry wives. Thanks for sharing this resource.

    Reply
  2. You are so right Megan! The support has been so encouraging and empowering for me personally! I hope you enjoy Leading and Loving it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

