RSS Feed

Love, Learn, Live

I am super stoked about the next 6 weeks!  Why?  I’m so glad you asked!

For the next 6 weeks, Lifepointe Church will be doing a message series titled “Inverted”.  The series will go along with a six week Bible study called “40 Days in the Word” written by Rick Warren.  I’m going to tell you a little bit about that, but first I want to share with you my own personal experience with the Bible.

We all know that as Christ followers, reading the Bible is high on the list of things we “should” do.  When I was a teenager in our youth group, we used to joke that the answer to every question was either “pray, go to church, or read your Bible”.  Praying came pretty naturally to me in the way I am wired.  It is a part of my daily life- not just at night when I go to sleep or when I sit down to a meal, but little whispers to God throughout the day.  It’s how I keep Him a part of my daily life.  Going to church was a practice I developed from birth.  It was just always a part of my life.  I love it, so that was not a difficult habit for me to form.  Reading the Bible, however, did not come quite as naturally.  I went through phases where I read it, I believed what I read, and I accepted that it was the standard for my life, but honestly, I didn’t love reading it.  It was a chore.  I felt like I needed a version called “The Bible for Dummies”:)  When I was a child, I was on the Bible quiz team.  That was a team of kids that studied the Bible and then went to competitions where you competed with other quiz teams.  As a child, everyone had card board numbers, and a proctor would ask a question.  We had to pull the correct number out of the box to answer the question.  As a teenager, you had to be first to jump off your seat to get the opportunity to answer.  And here is my confession:  I was a terrible quizzer.  I used to cheat at Bible quizzing.  I would look for cues from my friends so that I wouldn’t feel like a complete loser.  I was always a step behind b/c I would watch for what everyone was pulling out of the box, or I would jump from my chair a moment after everyone else so everyone would think I had studied and had a clue what was going on.  I’m so glad I got that off my chest:)

As a teenager and young adult,  I would pick up my Bible and read it because I should, but I still didn’t fully love it.  It was more of part of my checklist than something that I looked forward to.  Sometimes I would get something from it, and sometimes my mind wandered into outer space for entire chapters at a time.  But then, I found a version of the Bible that I understood.  It was called the “New Living Translation”.  I read it, and the more I read, the more I wanted to read. I found that there was always something new for me to hear from God.   The Bible moved from being something that informed me, to something that transformed me.  It’s amazing how it works.  It truly is a living, breathing conversation that God wants to have with us.  It began to fortify my prayer life, and my prayer life fortified it as well.  God had so much to say to me about Jesus, life, marriage, raising kids, work, finances, relationships, and many other things and I didn’t want to miss out!  That’s when it became a regular part of my life that I can’t live without.  If I were stranded on an island, I would rather have my Bible than matches or a lighter.  It prepares me, it feeds me, it sustains me.  It literally changed my life.  There are many versions out there, and you can find one that reads well to you!

Maybe you are just now beginning to investigate Christ and find out what He’s all about.  Maybe you’ve been a Christian for a year or two and really want to become more deeply rooted in Him.  Or maybe you’ve been a Christian for many years, but have still not learned to know and fully love God’s Word.  Maybe the Bible still intimidates you or feels like a part of your “to do” list and that makes you feel guilty.

Wherever you are, 40 Days in the Word is a place for you.  Jesus said

“If you abide in my word, then you are truly disciples of mine”.  John 8:31

This sermon series and study will expose you to new ways of looking at the Bible.  I am so excited to be rolling up my sleeves and digging in for the next 6 weeks to discover how to take my relationship with God to the next level and I hope you will join one of our groups and dig in too!  Here are the 3 main purposes of the study according to Rick:

~ Love the Word of God like you’ve never loved it before

~Learn the Word of God like you’ve never learned it before

~Live the Word of God like you’ve never lived it before

Love, Learn, Live.  What better way to do it, than to do it together.  I promise, you will not regret it.  This could be the most important step you take in your life, for within the Bible, you find Life.  It will infuse truth, blessing, direction, and renewal into your soul.  It is God speaking directly to you.  He so loves you and wants to abide in you.

I will be leading a group with Amy Hibbs at the church at 10 am on Fridays, beginning tomorrow.  You can check out all group options by clicking here.

Join us this Sunday at 10 or 11:15 or if you don’t live in Louisville, find a church near you that values and teaches The Bible and plug in!  If you need help finding a place, let us know.  I so love the local church and there are some great ones out there.  You can follow our podcasts here.

Learn more about the  40 Days in the Word Campaign here.

Let’s do this thing!

About johnsonpartyof5

I am the blessed and privileged wife of Jamey, mother of 3, & pastor's wife of Lifepointe Church. My heart belongs to Jesus.

2 responses »

  1. Hi Crystal,

    Will the messages be available to your family and friends in Ohio? If so how do we access them? I would love to go on this journey with you guys!!

    I love and miss you!
    Aunt Jeannie

    Reply

Leave a Reply

