RSS Feed

“What’s Next Papa?”

My husband is the Pastor of Lifepointe church here in Louisville, KY.  I am not just saying this because he is my husband or because he is promising me a new wardrobe to blog about him (haha j/k), but he is my very favorite preacher in the world.  I have heard some incredible speakers from all over the world, but I get to hear my favorite speaker every single Sunday morning.  He is so funny, so transparent, and so knowledgeable about the scriptures; yet those aren’t the only or main reasons I love to hear him preach.  So what is it that I love so much?  It’s real.  He isn’t up there spouting about things he doesn’t live or becoming one person on the stage and another in our home….It’s so real.  What he speaks, he speaks with conviction because he lives it.  He lives it because he loves Jesus and he follows Him.  Not perfectly- so don’t put those expectations on him, but sincerely.  I often walk away thinking “that’s one of my favorite messages ever”, but he spoke one this summer that I have kept in my heart in a special way.  God has written it there, and so I want to pass it on to you.  The message was about confession….a topic that makes many want to run out the door.  But not this message!  Jamey shared so much better than I can do justice on a blog, so I have included a link for you to hear it below, but I will give you a few highlights:

Many people run from Christ because they don’t want to feel the weight, shame, or burden of their sins and mistakes.  But the truth is, Christ created confession to REMOVE our guilt, shame, and burden of sin, not to pile it on!  He came to FREE us so we no longer bear that weight. He took it on the cross…..all we have to do is turn to Him and confess- which means AGREE with Him that we have done wrong and we need Him.

One of my main goals as a parent, is to teach our kids to run TO Jesus when they have done wrong, not away from Him.  Many who have grown up in church even run from Him, thinking they need to hide as Adam and Eve did in the garden.  But true freedom comes in turning to Him, asking His forgiveness, and then basking in His unending mercy.

I have read this passage over and over this week from my Message Bible:

“If the alive and present God who raised Jesus from the dead moves into your life, He’ll do the same thing in you  that He did in Jesus, bringing you alive to Himself.  When God lives and breathes in you (and He does as surely as He did in Jesus, you are delivered from that dead life.  With His spirit living in you, your body will be as alive as Christ’s!…..

God’s Spirit beckons.  There are things to do and places to go!  This resurrection life you received from God is not a timid, grave-tending life.  It’s adventurously expectant, greeting God with a childlike “What’s next Papa?”  God’s spirit touches our spirit and confirms who we really are”.  ~Romans 8:11-15

Don’t let fear of confession stand in the way of your freedom and adventure.  The other morning I was singing some silly songs and praying (yes simultaneously and it will make a little more sense when I tell the full story, though you will think I am nuts)- as I was overcoming some discouragement that had tried to seep it’s way into my spirit.  All of a sudden God brought to my mind the verses about those Christ followers who have gone before us cheering us on.  I could just see my brother Jamie’s giant smile in heaven telling me “hang on sis, it’s going to be so worth it!”  Sweet, beautiful Jesus.

Whatever you are facing, good or bad, turn to Him today.  Let go of the sin, let go of the burden, and enjoy your new life.  THEN, greet God with “What’s next Papa?”  Gods Spirit beckons…there are things to do and places to go!

Click here to listen to Jamey’s message on our podcast.  It is dated 7-15-12 and titled “Skillz: Confession”.

About johnsonpartyof5

I am the blessed and privileged wife of Jamey, mother of 3, & pastor's wife of Lifepointe Church. My heart belongs to Jesus.

Leave a Reply

