RSS Feed

Jesus Goes to Middle School Too!

This is my sweet 10 year old daughter.

This morning I went to tour the middle school we are hoping to send her to next year.  Yes, in our city you “apply” to middle school, and certain middle schools feed into certain high school, so you have to really be thinking ahead ….and it is as big of a decision as college!  Looking around that building, my heart just sank.  It’s so BIG for my little girl.  It’s twice the size of her elementary.  Oh how I wish 6th graders were still elementary students:(  Anyways, throughout the tour I had a lump in my throat and was choking back tears that my little girl is growing up.  I did my best not to let it show;  it isn’t kindgergarten where that is acceptable.  But I do feel like I just sent her off to kindergarten with her cute little blonde pigtails and backpack as big as her.

Today was a rare day where I was completely childless for the whole school day.  My 4 year old went with her daddy for the day and my other 2 were at school.  So, with the day at my disposal following my tour of the middle school, I made a little trip to Target and Hobby Lobby and had a quiet lunch ALL BY MYSELF at Panera.  I began writing out my prayer for Chloe and this middle school decision and as I did, God reminded me of these very important things:

* Though the school looked too big for my little girl, God is greater, and Chloe is His girl.  He’s got her!

* Jamey and I are not parenting her or our other 2 children all by ourselves.  The Holy Spirit will speak to her guide her , and be with her everywhere she goes….something we cannot do.  Though we are constantly seeking Him and striving to do the best we can to raise her well, It’s not solely dependent on us, so we shouldn’t treat it like it is!  And single parents- I can’t imagine how alone you feel at times, but you are not!  I believe your kids have a special place in God’s heart and He will help you parent them!

* Our job as parents is to train them up, and  let them go.  I am thankful we get to do this a little tiny bit at a time…..the day they start pre-school or kindergarten, middle school, high school, college, get a driver’s license, and other big and small moments in between.  BUT, we are not just sending them off into the world, to friends, or to school alone-we are sending them off with God- the One Who made every cell in their bodies, knows what they need, and loves them so much.  And we can trust Him to care for them….and to carry us through!  Yes, Jesus goes to Middle School too!

* Though as she gets older, the voices of her friends and others may become louder,  the voice of the parent is still the greatest authority in a child’s life because God has given us that authority.  They long for it, even if they roll their eyes, and they cry out for it if it is absent. We can pray for God to lead us in truth, and then pass that truth on to our kids.

Then, God led me to pray these verses over my girl:

“I pray that from His glorious unlimited resources He will empower you with inner strength through His Spirit.  Then Christ will make His home in your heart as you trust in Him.  Your roots will grow down into God’s love and keep you strong.  And may you have the power to understand as all God’s people should, how wide, how long, how high, and how deep His love is.  May you experience the love of Christ, though it is too great to understand fully.  Then you will be made complete with all the fullness of life and power that comes from God”.  ~Ephesians 3:16-19

“And now, just as you accepted Christ Jesus as your Lord, you must continue to follow Him.  Let your roots grow down into Him, and let your life be built on Him.  Then your faith will grow strong in the truth you were taught and you will overflow with thankfulness”.  ~Colossians 2:6-7

Notice the common denominators in these verses?  Strong roots…….in Christ…….in truth……in faith……in His love……..on which to build our lives.

Thank You Lord that we don’t have to parent alone!

About johnsonpartyof5

I am the blessed and privileged wife of Jamey, mother of 3, & pastor's wife of Lifepointe Church. My heart belongs to Jesus.

One response »

  1. Crystal,

    That is so beautiful, I sat at my table reading it with tears flowing down my cheeks. God is so wonderful and you are such a very special mommy!! It is so wonderful to know as a child of God we are NEVER alone!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

