RSS Feed

What About Bob?

What About Bob?

This is Bob.

DSC00938

If you’ve been to the Stonybrook Target often enough, you’ve most likely been greeted with a smile by Bob. I first met him when he worked security at Target, and always took the time to greet my kids and me with a pleasant smile and “how are you today.” Always ready to help, always paying attention to the needs of those around him, Bob is a difference maker. All of my friends who go to that store are familiar with him, because he treats them all with the same consistent kindness. For a time, the security position was eliminated, BUT, Target was smart….they knew they had a gem in Bob, so they hired him to work in electronics. I caught up with him one day because I was curious about what drove his joy and kindness towards his customers. We talked a bit about his family and his years spent as an attorney, and his enjoyment of boats. Now, Bob is “retired” as an attorney, but chooses to spend his days showing love and kindness to others at Target. The key word is “chooses”. Bob says “it all comes down to a choice we make each day what we’re going to do and how we’re going to treat people. We choose our attitude”. The motivation? Love for others.  I for one, am thankful for Bob’s daily choice. It has blessed me regularly for several years now. It may not seem like it matters much when you smile, offer to help, reach out, and extend a kind word to someone, but to the person on the receiving end, it might make their whole day! It might make their week! It might even change their life!

If I could speak all the languages of earth and of angels, but didn’t love others, I would only be a noisy gong or a clanging cymbal. If I had the gift of prophesy and if I understood all of God’s secret plans and possessed all knowledge, and if I had such faith that I could move mountains, but I didn’t love others, I would be nothing. If I gave everything I have to the poor and even sacrifice my body, I could boast about it, but if I didn’t love others, I would have gained nothing.”

~I Corinthians 13:1-3

Love is at he heart of why God made us, why He died for us, and why He wants us to be with Him forever. And He loves us enough to let us choose.

Open up your heart and receive His love.

Love Him in return.

Spread His love all around.

That might just be what helps someone else open their own hearts to receive His love.

You must love the Lord your God with all your heart, all your soul, and all your mind. This is the first and greatest commandment. A second is equally important; Love your neighbor as yourself. The entire law an all the demands of the prophets are based on these two commandments.”

Matthew 22:37-40

May love be our motivation. If you’re ever in Louisville, KY, I invite you to Lifepointe Church. While  you’re here, swing over to  the Stonybrook Target in Louisville, KY, and say hi to Bob!

About johnsonpartyof5

I am the blessed and privileged wife of Jamey, mother of 3, & pastor's wife of Lifepointe Church. My heart belongs to Jesus.

2 responses »

  1. Shannon Whigham

    Bob, I love that you make everyone that you meet and talk to feel welcomed and appreciated. Thank you for being so great! You really do show God’s love in everything you do!

    Reply
  2. I LOVE BOB!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

